Honor Societies

Campbell University offers its students a variety of Academic Honor Societies. Honor Societies are organizations that recognize students who excel academically or as leaders among their peers, often within a specific academic discipline.

For more information about one of these Honor Societies, please contact the advisor listed.

Alpha Phi Sigma is a national honor society that recognizes academic excellence in the field of Criminal Justice.

National Organization’s Website:
http://www.alphaphisigma.org/

Contact:
Amanda Parker
(910) 893-1480
aparker@campbell.edu

Alpha Sigma Lambda recognizes non-traditional students pursuing higher education.

National Organization’s Website:
https://www.alphasigmalambda.org

Contact:
Dean of Adult & Online Education
(910) 893-1278

Kappa Delta Pi is dedicated to promoting excellence in the field of Education. Membership is open to undergraduate candidates who have completed at least 30 hours with a GPA of 3.0.

National Organization’s Website:
http://www.kdp.org/

Contact:
Dr. Emily Turner (x1875)
School of Education
eaturner0730@campbell.edu

Lambda Pi Eta (LPH) is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association.

National Organization’s Website:
www.natcom.org/lambdapieta/

Contact:
Dr. Dean Farmer (x1521)
Communication Studies
farmerd@campbell.edu

Omicron Delta Epsilon is an International Economics Honor Society.

National Organization’s Website:
www.omicrondeltaepsilon.org

Contact:
Dr. Mark Steckbeck (x1383)
School of Business
steckbeckm@campbell.edu

Dr. Yu Mong Hsiao (x1397)
School of Business
hsiao@campbell.edu

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes juniors & seniors who are superior leaders in 5 phases of campus life: scholarship, athletics, publications, social and religious affairs, & the arts.

National Organization’s Website:
www.odk.org

Contact:
Dr. John Mero (x1481)
Political Science
meroj@campbell.edu

Phi Alpha recognizes Social Work majors having achieved sophomore status, a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.25 GPA in social work courses.

National Organization’s Website:
www.phialpha.org

Contact:
Dr. Susie Barnes
Social Work Department
barness@campbell.edu

Phi Alpha Theta is an international honor society in history that elects members who are juniors, seniors, graduates or faculty members. A 3.2 overall GPA and a 3.1 GPA in at least 12 semester hours of history are required for membership in the Alpha Iota Alpha (Campbell University) chapter.

National Organization’s Website: phialphatheta.org

Contact:
Dr. Lloyd Johnson (x1489)
Govt., History & Justice
johnson@campbell.edu

Dr. James Martin (x1485)
Govt., History & Justice
martinj@campbell.edu

Phi Eta Sigma recognizes academic excellence in the first year of college. Freshmen who have achieved at least a 3.5 GPA are invited to join.

National Organization’s Website:
www.phietasigma.org

Contact:
Karie Parkes

Student Activities

klparkes@campbell.edu

Phi Kappa Phi membership is made up of graduate students and seniors who are in the upper 10% of their class and juniors who are in the upper 7.5% during the final semester of their junior year.

National Organization’s Website:
www.phikappaphi.org

Contact:
Dr. Catherine Cowling (x1487)

Criminal Justice Department
cowlingc@campbell.edu

Pi Gamma Mu is an international honor society in social science that elects members who are juniors, seniors, graduate students or faculty members. A “B” average in 20 semester hours of the social sciences is required.

National Organization’s Website:
www.pigammamu.org

Contact:
Dr. Lloyd Johnson (x1489)
Govt., History & Justice
johnson@campbell.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha recognizes Political Science majors who are in the upper third of their college class.

National Organization’s Website:
www.apsanet.org

Contact:
Dr. David Thornton (x1488)
Government, History & Justice
thornton@campbell.edu

Premedical/Allied Health Honor Society is open to students who have an overall 3.0 GPA and at least 3.0 GPA in science. Three semesters of study must be completed and members must rank in the top 35% of their class.

Contact:
Dr. Michelle Suhan-Thomas (x1714)
Biological Sciences
suhan@campbell.edu

Dr. Taek You (x1734)
Biological Sciences
suhan@campbell.edu

Psi Chi is the International Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.

National Organization’s Website:
www.psichi.org

Contact:
Dr. Jutta Street (x1653)
Psychology Department
streetj@campbell.edu

Dr. Gary Taylor
Department Chair Psychology
taylor@campbell.edu

National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society

National Organization’s Website:
sigmadeltapi.org

Contact:
Dr. Rene Ibarra (x1671)
Foreign Language/Spanish
ibarrav@campbell.edu

Sigma Tau Delta is the only National English Honor Society and is open to all students who have completed at least 45 semester hours with a minimum of 3.5 overall GPA and a 3.0 GPA in English courses.

National Organization’s Website:
www.english.org/sigmatd

Contact:
Mrs. Shirley Jefferds (x1399)
English Department
jefferds@campbell.edu

Theta Alpha Kappa’s purpose is to recognize the academic achievements of religion and theology students.

National Organization’s Website:
thetaalphakappa.net

Contact:
Dr. Kathy Lopez (x1683)
Religion & Philosophy
lopezk@campbell.edu