Honor Societies

Campbell University offers its students a variety of Academic Honor Societies. Honor Societies are organizations that recognize students who excel academically or as leaders among their peers, often within a specific academic discipline.

For more information about one of these Honor Societies, please contact the advisor listed.

Description Advisor(s)
Epsilon Pi Eta  
Epsilon Pi Eta was organized at Campbell University in 1928 to promote character, leadership and scholarship. Membership is achieved by academic standing among upperclassmen.
 
Dr. Mike Larsen (x1733)
Biology Department
larsenl@campbell.edu

Dr. Donna Waldron (x1576)
English Department
waldron@campbell.edu
 
Kappa Delta Pi  
Kappa Delta Pi is dedicated to promoting excellence in the field of Education. Membership is open to undergraduate candidates who have completed at least 30 hours with a GPA of 3.0.
National Organization’s Website: http://www.kdp.org/
 
Dr. Janet Powell (x1658)
School of Education
powellj@campbell.edu
 
Lambda Pi Eta  
Lambda Pi Eta (LPH) is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association.
National Organization’s Website: http://www.natcom.org/lambdapieta/
 
Dr. Dean Farmer (x1521)
Communication Studies
farmerd@campbell.edu
 
Omicron Delta Epsilon  
Omicron Delta Epsilon is an International Economics Honor Society.
National Organization’s Website: www.omicrondeltaepsilon.org
 
Dr. Mark Steckbeck (x1383)
School of Business
steckbeckm@campbell.edu

Dr. Yu Mong Hsiao (x1397)
School of Business
hsiao@campbell.edu
 
Omicron Delta Kappa  
Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes juniors & seniors who are superior leaders in 5 phases of campus life: scholarship, athletics, publications, social and religious affairs, & the arts.
National Organization’s Website: www.odk.org
 
Dr. Carl Broadhurst (x1411)
School of Business
broadhurst@campbell.edu
 
Phi Alpha  
Phi Alpha recognizes Social Work majors having achieved sophomore status, a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.25 GPA in social work courses.
National Organization’s Website: www.phialpha.org
 
Dr. Eugene Sumner
Social Work Department
kledaras@campbell.edu
 
Phi Alpha Theta  
Phi Alpha Theta is an international honor society in history that elects members who are juniors, seniors, graduates or faculty members. A 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.1 GPA in at least 12 semester hours of history are required. National Organization’s Website: phialphatheta.org
 
Dr. Lloyd Johnson (x1489)
Govt., History & Justice
johnson@campbell.edu

Dr. James Martin (x1485)
Govt., History & Justice
martinj@campbell.edu
 
Phi Eta Sigma  
Phi Eta Sigma recognizes academic excellence in the first year of college.  Freshmen who have achieved at least a 3.5 GPA are invited to join.
National Organization’s Website: www.phietasigma.org
 
Jennifer Latino (x5577)
First-Year Experience
latinoj@campbell.edu
 
Phi Kappa Phi  
Phi Kappa Phi membership is made up of graduate students and seniors who are in the upper 10% of their class and juniors who are in the upper 7.5% during the final semester of their junior year.
National Organization’s Website: www.phikappaphi.org
 
Dr. Harriet L. Enzor (x1633)
Associate Professor of Counseling
enzor@campbell.edu
 
Pi Gamma Mu  
Pi Gamma Mu is an international honor society in social science that elects members who are juniors, seniors, graduate students or faculty members. A “B” average in 20 semester hours of the social sciences is required.
National Organization’s Website: www.pigammamu.org
 
Dr. Lloyd Johnson (x1489)
Govt., History & Justice
Johnson@campbell.edu
 
Phi Sigma Alpha  
Pi Sigma Alpha recognizes Political Science majors who are in the upper third of their college class.
National Organization’s Website: www.apsanet.org
 
Dr. David Thornton (x1488)
Govt., History & Justice
thornton@campbell.edu
 
Premed/Allied Health  
Premedical/Allied Health Honor Society is open to students who have an overall 3.0 GPA and at least 3.0 GPA in science. Three semesters of study must be completed and members must rank in the top 35% of their class.
 
Dr. Michelle Suhan-Thomas (x1714)
Biological Sciences
suhan@campbell.edu

Dr. Taek You (x1734)
Biological Sciences
suhan@campbell.edu

 
Psi Chi  
Psi Chi is the International Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. National Organization’s Website: www.psichi.org
 
Dr. Jutta Street (x1653)
Psychology Department
streetj@campbell.edu

Dr. Gary Taylor
Department ChairPsychology
taylor@campbell.edu
 
Sigma Beta Delta  
International Honor Society for Business, Management & Administration
National Organization’s Website: www.sigmabetadelta.org
 
Dr. Ben Hawkins (x1380)
School of Business
hawkinsb@campbell.edu
 
Sigma Delta Phi  
National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society
National Organization’s Website: www.bakeru.edu/faculty/sschumm/sigma.htm
 
Dr. Javier Puerto (X1671)
Foreign Language/Spanish
puertoj@campbell.edu
 
Sigma Tau Delta  
Sigma Tau Delta is the only National English Honor Society and is open to all students who have completed at least 45 semester hours with a minimum of 3.5 overall GPA and a 3.0 GPA in English courses.
National Organization’s Website: www.english.org/sigmatd
 
Mrs. Shirley Jefferds (x1399)
English Department
jefferds@campbell.edu
 
Theta Alpha Kappa  
Theta Alpha Kappa’s purpose is to recognize the academic achievements of religion and theology students.
National Organization’s Website: thetaalphakappa.net
 
Dr. Adam English
Religion & Philosophy
englisha@campbell.edu
 
Who’s Who  
Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges recognizes seniors recommended by faculty and evaluated by academic achievement, campus and community service, leadership and potential for future achievement.
National Organization’s Website: www.whoswhoamongstudents.com
 
Laura Rich (x4364)
Student Success
richl@campbell.edu