Concord Pharmacist Receives Campbell School of Pharmacy Award

May 12, 2009 | Leave a Comment


Buies Creek, NC - Concord pharmacist and Campbell alum Joseph S. Moose is the recipient of the 2009 M. Keith Fearing, Jr. Community Pharmacy Practice Award from Campbell University.

The award was presented on May 5, at Campbell University.

"I'm flattered," says Joe Moose, who graduated from Campbell University School of Pharmacy, receiving his Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 1990. Moose is a fourth generation pharmacist whose great grandfather started the company.

The M. Keith Fearing Community Pharmacy Practice Award is given in memory of Keith Fearing, a 1941 Campbell alumnus who was instrumental in the establishment of the Campbell University School of Pharmacy. The Fearing award was established in 1997 to honor Fearing's memory and his contributions to community pharmacy practice.

"As a Campbell graduate, I understand the significance of this award. Mr. Fearing was a paragon in the field of pharmacy. I'm honored to receive this recognition," Moose notes.

Dr. Moose serves as a Preceptor to Campbell University Pharm.D. candidates and serves a dual role as an adjunct assistant professor and Director of Community Pharmacy residency at UNC-Chapel Hill School of Pharmacy. He also serves as a clinical assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice at Wingate University School of Pharmacy.

Joe is co-chair of the NC Medicaid Drug Regimen Review Board and a member of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics committee for NC Medicaid. He is founder of the Academy of Students of Pharmacy & Student Association of NCPhA chapters at Campbell University and co-founder of Delta Lambda chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity.

He is also a member of the National Association of Community Pharmacists, American Pharmaceutical Association, North Carolina Association of Pharmacists and Piedmont Pharmaceutical Society.

"Joe Moose exemplifies the type of graduate we envisioned when the Campbell University School of Pharmacy was started" said Dr. Ronald Maddox, dean of the Campbell School of Pharmacy. "His practice epitomizes what the M. Keith Fearing Community Pharmacy Award was designed to recognize: patient dedication, community engagement, professional involvement, and family commitment."