Communication honor society holds induction ceremony

February 28, 2010 | Leave a Comment


Buies Creek, N.C. -- On Thursday, Feb. 25, the Sigma Upsilon chapter of communication honor society Lambda Pi Eta welcomed eleven new members in an induction ceremony.

Membership requirements include the completion of 60 semester hours, a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.0, 12 completed hours in communication courses with a grade point average of at least 3.25 in these courses and enrollment as a full time student.

Students meeting criteria were Nathan Brunson, Christopher Caudle, Meagan Collins, Ray Coover, Rebecca Kinsey, Mary Mattson, Megann Roush, Lauren Stephan, Nick Woods, Julia Yiznitsky and Hannah Zurn.

In addition to rewarding and celebrating academic achievement, the honor society has also encouraged the continuance of education for many students at the graduate level.

According to Dr. Dean Farmer, chair of the Department of Communication Studies and faculty adviser for the honor society, few graduates pursued higher learning prior to the chapter's establishment.

"Forming the chapter was a positive step in building the department in multiple directions," said Farmer. "Lambda Pi Eta celebrates that we're succeeding in pushing people to reach higher levels and abstract thought."

December 2009 alumnae and former member Amanda Johnson credits the honor society for assisting with her graduate school aspirations.

"Through Lambda Pi Eta, I was selected to attend a graduate school fair in Chicago, which exposed me to several graduate school possibilities," said Johnson. "It opened many doors for my future and I'm glad I was part of such a great organization."

Founded in 1985, Lambda Pi Eta is the official honor society of the National Communication Association; the Sigma Upsilon chapter at Campbell was established in 2005.

From left - Dr. Ed Johnson, Christopher Caudle, Evan Staehle, Rebecca Kinsey, Nick Woods, Meagan Collins, Nathan Brunson, Chelsea Wilde, Dr. Michael Smith and Dr. Dean Farmer participated in the Lambda Pi Eta induction ceremony, held Feb. 25.

Photo Credit: Sara McCarthy

Prepared by Chelsea Wilde